Plutonium Futures – The Science is a topical conference that provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of current research on physical and chemical properties of plutonium and other actinide elements, supporting safe and secure research as part of the global energy mix.
By bringing people of diverse disciplines together, the conference aims to enhance the dialogue among scientists and engineers on the fundamental properties of plutonium and other actinide elements, and their technological consequences.
Previous edition took place in San Diego, USA in 2018. The 2020 edition previously planned in Montpellier, France was unfortunately cancelled due to the COVID-19 situation.
The 2022 edition, Organized by the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA), will include plenary, technical and poster sessions. Technical sessions will include invited and contributed talks. Contributed talks will be limited to 20 minutes including discussion. Authors must submit abstracts online before the 28th of March, 2022. Abstracts must be limited to two single pages, using the dedicated template.
Confirmed plenary speakers:
  • Frantz Freibert (LANL, USA): Metallurgy and Materials Science
  • Kristina Kvashnina (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany): Environmental Behavior and Chemistry
  • Thomas Albrecht-Schoenzart (Florida State University, USA): Compounds, Complexes and Coordination Chemistry
  • Paul Roussel (AWE, UK): Surface Science and Corrosion
  • Bernard Amadon (CEA, France): Condensed Matter Physics
  • Amy Hixon (Notre Dame University, USA): Aquatic and Gas-phase Chemistry
  • Peter Martin (University of Bristol, UK): Detection and Analysis
  • Gilles Bordier (CEA , France): Nuclear Fuel Cycle


The oral and poster presentations are invited on subjects and issues that cover almost all the following fields:
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Surface Science and Corrosion
  • Metallurgy and Materials Science
  • Compounds, Complexes and Coordination Chemistry
  • Detection and Analysis
  • Nuclear Fuel Cycle
  • Environmental Behavior and Chemistry
  • Solution and Gas-phase Chemistry

Key dates

April 8, 2022
Abstract submission deadline
March, 2022
Registration opens
May 6, 2022
Notification about communication acceptance
July 1, 2022
End of early registration
August 16, 2022
End of registration

Registration fees

Standard registration: 950€
(Early bird registration 700€)

Included in the registration fees: four lunches, the poster session buffet, and the conference diner

Accompanying person at the conference dinner: 80€

Participants are responsible for booking their own accommodations.

Subscribe to the distribution list

Don't miss any further update on Plutonium Futures conferences, subscribe to their distribution list!

Without this subscription, you will not receive any more information on this event (including the registration).

Conference venue

The conference will take place in the Conference Center of the Pope’s Palace in the historic city of Avignon which have both been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1995. The palace is known to be one of the largest and most important medieval Gothic buildings in Europe. This architectural masterpiece was the papal residence during the 14th century and held several conclaves before the return of the papacy to Rome. The palace has been later used as a fortress until the French revolution and is nowadays a touristic place and conference site. Avignon is a magnificent city in the heart of the southern wine-producing region of France. The city is famous for the majesty and exceptional conservation of its historic heritage. You will be seduced by the beauty of its old historical center, the Pope’s palace, the city’s fortifications, the garden “Rocher des Doms”, or the famous broken bridge “Pont Saint-Bénézet” from the children's song "Sur le pont d'Avignon".


Pufu Access

Due to security control at the entry of the congress center, it is strongly recommended to leave your suitcases at the hotel.
REGISTRATION : Conference room #3: PANETERIE
- Sunday 25 from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm: main registration + welcome drink at 6:00 pm
- From Monday 26 to Thursday 29: opportunity to register in the morning from 8 am to 9 am


Download the programme here

Books of Abstracts

Download the Oral Talks Book of Abstracts here

Download the Posters Book of Abstracts here


Registration is closed.

Travel information

Avignon can be reached by train:

1) The Avignon-TGV station connected to direct TGV trains from:
  • Paris:
    • Roissy – Charles de Gaulle airport in less than 3 hours
    • Gare de Lyon train station (center of Paris) in 2 hours and 40 minutes
  • Lyon:
    • Part-Dieu train station in less than 1 hour
    • Saint-Exupery airport in less than 1 hour
  • Marseille: St-Charles train station in 30min
  • Geneva in about 3 hours
The center of Avignon can then be reached from the Avignon-TGV station using a short local train ride (5 min, every 15-30min).

2) The Avignon-center station with local connections
  • Marseille-Provence airport (MRS), about 70 km from Avignon, with a connection to the Avignon-center station by train

3) Other possible connections are from:
  • Montpellier airport (MPL) or Nimes airport (FNI), with in either cases, connection by shuttle bus or using a car rental.

Participants are responsible for booking their own accommodations.


Download the flyer here

Organisational Committee

  • Local Organising Committee
  • Program Committee
  • International Advisory Committee
  • Philippe Guilbaud (CEA)
  • François Delaunay (CEA)
  • Thomas Dumas (CEA)
  • Dominique Guillaumont (CEA)
  • Christophe Jegou (CEA)
  • François Jollet (CEA)
  • Christelle Tamain (CEA)
  • Carole Valot (CEA)
  • Matthieu Virot (ICSM)
  • Corwin Booth (LBNL)
  • Horst Geckeis (KIT)
  • John Gibson (LBNL)
  • Krzysztof Gofryk (INL)
  • Robert J. Hanrahan Jr. (NNSA)
  • Matthew Higginson (AWE)
  • David Hobart (LANL)
  • Rudy Konings (JRC)
  • Alexander Landa (LLNL)
  • Klaus Luetzenkirchen (JRC)
  • Philippe Moisy (CEA)
  • Benoit Oudot (CEA)
  • Paul Roussel (AWE)
  • Tarik Saleh (LANL)
  • David Shuh (LBNL)
  • Richard Wilson (ANL)
  • Ping Yang (LANL)
  • Mavrik Zavarin (LLNL)
  • Scott Bazley (AWE)
  • Hervé Bernard (CEA)
  • Kerri Blobaum (LLNL)
  • Roberto Caciuffo (JRC)
  • Hervé Chollet (CEA)
  • David Clark (LANL)
  • Rodney C. Ewing (Stanford University)
  • Thomas Fanghänel (JRC)
  • Franz Freibert (LANL)
  • David Geeson (AWE)
  • Yoshinori Haga (JAEA)
  • Ladislav Havela (Charles University – Prague)
  • Siegfried Hecker (Stanford University)
  • Gerrit van der Laan (Diamond Light Source Ltd)
  • Gerry Lander (ILL)
  • Jun Li (Tsinghua University)
  • Scott McCall (LLNL)
  • Tim Tinsley (NNL)